Punong Barangays are requested to submit to the CSWDO their updated list of Senior Citizens, as of June 30, 2022

Republic Act 9994 or the Expanded Senior Citizens Act states that only indigent senior citizens are qualified to receive the social pension from the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) under the Social Pension for Indigent Senior Citizens (SPISC).

RA 9994 specifies that seniors qualified to receive social pension are those who are frail, sickly or with disability; without any pension from other government agencies; and without a permanent source of income or source of financial assistance or compensation to support their basic needs. These qualifications were established because the budget for the implementation of the SPISC is limited.

Thus, the City of Baybay, through the City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO), decided to allocate funds for a One Shot Subsidy of P500 annually for Baybayanons who turned 60 on or before June 30 of each year. This is given to all senior citizens of the city, regardless of their status, every December of each year. Same is true with the Persons with Disability (PWD) in the City of Baybay.

It could be recalled that the City of Baybay started distributing the One Shot Subsidy since 2017 thus, the need for the barangays to update their list of senior citizens annually, with June 30 as the cut off date. This means that those who turned 60 on July 1 must not be included yet in the updated list of senior citizens this year.

In relation to this, The City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) of the Local Government Unit of Baybay City is calling the attention of the 29 barangays that have not submitted the UPDATED LIST OF SENIOR CITIZENS in their respective barangays to the CSWDO yet.  These include Barangays Bunga, Kan-ipa, Hilapnitan, Igang, Maganhan, Marcos, San Agustin and Sta. Cruz in the North District; Barangays Amguhan, Buenavista, Higulo-an. Kabatu-an, Kagumay, Kambonmggan, Monterio and Monteverde in the East District;  Barangays Balao, Biasong, Bidlinan, Kabalasan and Pomponan in the South District; and Zones 2, 5, 6, 15, 17, 18, 21 and 22.

According to Mr. Remegio Morales, the said list will be the basis in the preparation of the payroll for the One Shot Subsidy from the Baybay City LGU which will be distributed in December. (Marissa Miguel Cano, City Information Officer, Baybay City, Leyte)